Get news, special offers and much more.

Angela Davis
February 12th, 2016

Angela Davis, was born on January 26th, 1944 in Birmingham, Alabama. Davis is a master scholar, writer, and activist who even studied at the Sorbonne. She’s best known for her civil rights activism and attention to other social issues. In her teenage years, she organized interracial study groups at her home which were broken up by police. Davis even knew several of the young girls killed in the Birmingham church bombing of 1963.

It was during her time as a graduate student at University of California, San Diego, in the late 60s that Davis joined the Black Panther Party. A majority of her time then was spent working with the Che-Lumumba club, which was an all-black branch of the Communist Party. Hired to teach at the University of California, Los Angeles, Davis ran into problems with administration for her association with communism. They fired her, but when she took them to court and won, she received her job back but still parted ways with the school when her contract was up on 1970.

Davis spent roughly 18 months in prison on several charges, including murder for her presumed part in an escape attempt made by the Soledad brothers. She was eventually acquitted of the charges in 1972 and returned to traveling and teaching. Today, Davis is a professor at the University of California, Santa Cruz teaching courses on the history of consciousness. She’s also the author of several books, including Women, Race, and Class (1980) as well as Are Prisons Obsolete? (2003).

Racism is a much more clandestine, much more hidden kind of phenomenon, but at the same time it's perhaps far more terrible than it's ever been.
-Angela Davis

Devon Pyne for Public Enemy

Part of the btnLogo BTNEastlink.com Network!